My Journey: Makeup Artist to Frontend Web Development.

My Journey: Makeup Artist to Frontend Web Development.

Early November 2020, I ordered some bags from China. I was excited that I was about to get a side hustle. I just got a small capital then, so I was excited. Fast forward to mid-December, my goods finally arrived. But by the time it arrived, dollar rate had risen from #480 to #530...I almost passed out.

My mind was in disarray because the agent in charge of my goods had sent me a message about a certain deadline else my goods will enter demurrage. I began to run here and there, begging friends and family for help so I could just pick my goods and start selling.

I finally got the complete fee for taking my goods from the agent and vruuum! off to Ikeja to pick the bags. I did bring my goods home. I did everything possible to sell my bags but every move I made seemed worse. I took several loans so as to run Facebook ads. For all the days my advert was on, I got nothing. I became frustrated and almost depressed.

So one weary morning of mine, my brother advised I take the bags to people who could help me resell. I did, went around and got a young lady. She helped me sell some but the bags refused to go. Till now, the bags are still in my mum's room. I gave out a few to relatives because the sight of those bags made me cringe.

What was I to do? I had loads of loan to pay and I was almost getting the depressed. Then it dawned on me that I had made the most terrible mistake of my life. I don't think I want to ever sell anything except for my skill set. So, what skill set do I have? I am a Makeup Artist but business has not been encouraging. Then the urge came, I wanted something more for myself. I didn't like the cycle of being stuck at intervals. I just wanted to move.

In my mind, I knew there was a lot that I could be and it became a thing of worry yet I wanted a solution. Then came that evening, my brother was on Twitter and was reading out something about an internship influenced by Don Jazzy. He was interested in the courses. As he mentioned the courses, my heart leaped and I knew I wanted to be part of that internship. It was the Zuri Team partnered Internship with Ingressive For Good in March. I begged him to tell me the process of registration and he helped with it.

From then, my Frontend Web Development Journey started.

Thanks for reading. I will be sharing my beginner's step to creating my first website soon.